Our Body – The Universe Within: April’s Scholarship event

By Jillian Quirante, ΕΞ ‘10

For April’s event, SAAC had the wonderful opportunity to see a truly unique exhibit that is often only available to larger cities.  Our Body – The Universe Within came to Johnson City to the local museum, Hands On! Regional Museum.  After having lunch and a short business meeting at a restaurant across the street, we visited the exhibit.

SAAC Outside of the Hands On! Museum

SAAC Outside of the Hands On! Museum

I had seen this exhibit before in Florida, so I was very excited to view it again.  It was a very interesting exhibit and I learned a lot (even though I had anatomy a long time ago).  When we walked in, there was a wall with a timeline describing the key events in the study of anatomy.  After the timeline was a description about the process of creating the exhibit before we moved into the first part of the exhibit – the bones.

We all moved through the exhibit at our own pace.  I took particular attention to part of the exhibit featuring the organs involved in digestion.  I was having gallbladder surgery a few days after this event, so I wanted to see exactly what all was involved.  I didn’t realize how big the gallbladder is!  It gave me a little more peace of mind.  After we made it through the exhibit, we learned a little bit about blood and organ donation.

Overall, this was a great scholarship event and we each learned at least one new thing.  We hope to have more opportunities like this in the future for scholarship events.

Leave a comment