August Service Event

By: Jillian Quirante ΕΞ ‘10

August is a very busy month for many of the Members in SAAC.  Work (many at universities or local schools) and graduate school seem to gear up during this month.  Because of the hectic schedule, SAAC decided to met for a nice dinner at Cheddar’s and we each brought items to be donated to Bucky’s Pantry, our alma mater’s food pantry (Shout out to Tina for organizing the event!).  Everyday that I go to work at ETSU, there is a Bucky’s Pantry collection box that I have to pass to get to my office, so I knew that getting the food and donating would be a fairly easy process.

August_service

I was actually overwhelmed by the amount of supplies that SAAC had collected.  There was no way that I was going to be able to 1) carry all of the supplies to work by myself and 2) be able to fit all of the supplies in the small box at work.  So I decided to take one grocery bag each day that I went to work and put it in the collection box.  This spread out over the course of about ten days.  Little did I know how SAAC’s donations would allow me to embody leadership through service.  Over the course of the next two weeks after I dropped off my last bag, I noticed that the box had at least one new bag of donations in it!  Apparently, when I dropped off SAAC’s donations in the morning, people in my office noticed and started bringing donations themselves!  It was such a rewarding feeling knowing that even though this was a small service event, SAAC was able to make a bigger impact than just what we collected.  I encourage all of our Brothers and Chapters to know that even a small act of kindness/service can and will make a huge impact!  No service event is too small!

Leave a comment